The SAIMM is a professional institute with local and international links aimed at assisting members source information about technological developments in the mining, metallurgical and related sectors.
twitter1 facebook1 linkedin logo

SAIMM Office Bearers

Vaughn Duke
Isabel Geldenhuys
President Elect
Zelmia Botha
Senior Vice President
Elias Mthenjane
William Joughin
Junior Vice President
Mzila Mthenjane
Immediate Past President
Elias Matinde
Incoming Junior Vice-President
Prof. Selo Ndlovu
Co-opted Office Bearer
William Joughin
Honorary Treasurer

Brigadier Stokes Memorial Award


In 1980 the South African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy instituted a prestigious award to commemorate Brigadier Stokes for his outstanding and unique contribution to the South African Mining Industry over a period of many years. This award consists of a Platinum medal. The award is made to an individual for the very highest achievement in the South African mining and metallurgical industry, and is not necessarily based on technical considerations.

Former Recipients
1980    H F Oppenheimer
1981    Dr W Bleloch
1982    Dr F G Hill
1983    Dr A Whillier (Postumously)
1984    Professor D G Krige
1985    Dr R E Robinson
1986    Professor M D G Salamon
1987    Dr T F Muller
1988    Dr W J (Wim) de Villiers
1989    Dr R A Plumbridge
1990    W G Boustred
1991    P du P Kruger
1992    E Pavitt
1993    Professor D A Pretorius
1994    Dr H Wagner
1995    Dr O K H Steffen
1996    B E Hersov
1997    D W Horsfall (Posthumously)
1998    B P Gilbertson
1999    L Boyd
2000    A H Mokken
2001    T L Gibbs
2002    J Ogilvie Thompson
2003    P V Cox
2004    H J Smith
2005    P Motsepe
2006    Prof G T van Rooyen

Read more here...