The SAIMM is a professional institute with local and international links aimed at assisting members source information about technological developments in the mining, metallurgical and related sectors.
twitter1 facebook1 linkedin logo

logoSConstitution and by-laws

The following PDF file is available for download:

logoSCode of Professional Conduct


In the interests of performing their work with integrity and sincerity and in accordance with generally accepted norms of professional conduct members of the SAIMM are obliged to:

  • Uphold the dignity and standing of their professions and those of the Institute.
  • Have due regard for the welfare, safety and health of the public and the environment in all activities.
  • Only undertake work for which they have been adequately trained, have the necessary experience and are thus competent to perform.
  • Discharge their duties to employers and/or clients effectively and competently, with fidelity and honesty and to respect their employer's confidentiality.
  • Strictly avoid advertising their professional services in a self-laudatory way or in a way which would undermine the dignity of the Institute.
  • Refrain from malicious or negligent conduct that will injure the professional reputation or business of others.
  • Comply with the Constitution of the Institute and where applicable those of legislated Codes of Professional Conduct.

The Code of Professional Conduct appears as By-law H in the Constitution document linked to above.

Complaints and Disciplinary Procedure (PDF)


SAIMM Advert button072017inner

Brigadier Stokes Memorial Award


In 1980 the South African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy instituted a prestigious award to commemorate Brigadier Stokes for his outstanding and unique contribution to the South African Mining Industry over a period of many years. This award consists of a Platinum medal. The award is made to an individual for the very highest achievement in the South African mining and metallurgical industry, and is not necessarily based on technical considerations.

Former Recipients
1980    H F Oppenheimer
1981    Dr W Bleloch
1982    Dr F G Hill
1983    Dr A Whillier (Postumously)
1984    Professor D G Krige
1985    Dr R E Robinson
1986    Professor M D G Salamon
1987    Dr T F Muller
1988    Dr W J (Wim) de Villiers
1989    Dr R A Plumbridge
1990    W G Boustred
1991    P du P Kruger
1992    E Pavitt
1993    Professor D A Pretorius
1994    Dr H Wagner
1995    Dr O K H Steffen
1996    B E Hersov
1997    D W Horsfall (Posthumously)
1998    B P Gilbertson
1999    L Boyd
2000    A H Mokken
2001    T L Gibbs
2002    J Ogilvie Thompson
2003    P V Cox
2004    H J Smith
2005    P Motsepe
2006    Prof G T van Rooyen

Read more here...