The SAIMM is a professional institute with local and international links aimed at assisting members source information about technological developments in the mining, metallurgical and related sectors.
twitter1 facebook1 linkedin logo

MPES 2015 : Mine Planning & Equipment Selection

Date 11 November 2015
- 11 November 2015
Location Sandton Convention Centre, Gauteng, South Africa
We are no longer accepting registration for this event


MPES 2015

Smart Innovationin Mining

11 November Conference | 13 November Tours and Technical Visits
Sandton Convention Centre, Johannesburg, South Africa

The Southern African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (SAIMM) will be hosting the 23rd International Symposium on Mine Planning and Equipment Selection (MPES) for the first time in South Africa in 2015.The symposium has successfully been organized annually for the past 25 years with intermittent 1-year recess as necessary. In 2013 the symposium was held in Germany. It will be in recess in 2014. MPES has previously been held in Turkey, Greece, Canada, Kazakhstan, Australia, Czech Republic, Brazil, India, China, Ukraine, Poland and Italy. Other venues for future MPES are Czech Republic, Sweden, and Australia.

Sponsorship Opportunities
Companies wishing to sponsor or exhibit should contact
Raymond van der Berg
Head of Conferencing
Tel: (011) 834-1273/7
Fax: (011) 833-8156 or (011) 838-5923

The key objective of MPES is to provide a platform for researchers from academic institutions, professionals from mining companies, practitioners from consulting companies, equipment suppliers (OEMs) and software providers to share the latest global developments in mine planning and equipment selection across all commodities for the benefit of the mining industry in improving efficiencies and safety. An additional objective of MPES
2015 is to encourage MSc and PhD students to showcase their research in a 'Young Authors Category' to foster creation of the next generation of MPES participants.

Major themes to be covered along the value chain
• Data Collection and Modelling: State of the Art Practices
• Mineral Resource and Mineral Reserve Estimation and reporting
• Economic and Technical Feasibility Studies, Mine Development Case Studies
• Design, Planning and Optimization of Surface and Underground Mines
• Transition from surface to underground mining
• Rock Mechanics and Geotechnical Applications
• Mining Equipment: Selection, Operation, Control, Monitoring and Optimization
• Mechanization and Automation of Mining Processes
• Application of Information Technology
• Short interval/planning and control
• Resource-to-Market: Reconciliation and Optimization
• Productivity and Competitiveness of Mining Operations
• Sustainability: Improving Health, Safety and Environmental Practice and Performance
• Mine Closure and Rehabilitation in mine planning
• Young Authors Category (MSc/PhD Students below 35 years).

Call for papers
The Conference is being organised by The Southern African
Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, and papers are invited for the Conference.

Prospective authors are invited to submit titles and abstracts of their papers, in English. The abstracts should be no longer than 500 words and should be submitted to:
Raymond van der Berg
Head of Conferencing
Tel: (011) 834-1273/7
Fax: (011) 833-8156 or (011) 838-5923

Key Dates
28 February 2015                Submission of Abstracts

29 May 2015                       Submission of Papers

28 August 2015                   Deadline for Camera-Ready Manuscripts

8-11 November 2015           Conference

12-13 November 2015         Tours and Technical Visits


Conference Committee
Dr. Raj K. Singhal

Mr. Mike Teke

Prof. Cuthbert Musingwini

Mr. Bekir Genc
Dr Steven Rupprecht
Mr. Alastair Macfarlane
Mr. Kelello Chabedi
Mr. Jannie Maritz
Mr. Godknows Njowa
Mr. Mike Woodhall
Prof. Jim Porter
Mr. Alex Bals
Dr Andre Dougall
Dr Gordon L. Smith
Dr Craig Smith
Mr. I. Wermuth

Professor Monika Hardygra
Prof. Carsten Drebenstedt
Prof. Uday Kumar
Prof. Kostas Fytas
Prof. Petr.Sklenicka

Prof. Hani Mitri
Dr Nuray Demirel
Dr Marilena Cardu
Dr Fiona Mavroudis
Dr Meimei Zhang
Prof. Ge Hao
Prof. Celal Karpuz
Prof. Liu Mingju
Dr Mohan Yellishetty
Prof. Hideki Shimada
Dr Gento Mogi
Dr Vera Muzgina
Dr Morteza Osanloo
Dr Juri- Rivaldo Pastarus
Prof. Hakan Schunnesson
Ms. M. Singhal
Dr Eleonora. Widzyk-Capehart
Prof. Antonio Nieto
Prof. Michael A. Zhuravkov
Prof. Sukumar Bandopadhaya
Prof. Ferri Hassani
Dr Noune.Melkoumian
Dr Joerg Benndorf
Prof. Giorgio Massacci
Dr Maria Menegaki
Prof. Svetlana V.Yeffremova
Prof. Pivnyak Gennadiy
Prof. Vladimir Kebo
Dr Marie Vrbova

Raymond van der Berg
Head of Conferencing
Tel: (011) 834-1273/7
Fax: (011) 833-8156 or (011) 838-5923